Taking a break…

I’ve been at this here since 2013. I’ve written almost 300 posts on many topics relating to Christian Science, and leaving it (which has been the best thing I’ve ever done). I’ve often said that the ‘textbook’ of Christian Science, Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures is 600 pages of different ways to say “matter is not real, God is the only thing that’s real.” I don’t want this blog to become the anti-Christian Science version of this, where I write hundreds of posts that basically just boil down to “Christian Science is bullshit, and it doesn’t work”. I mean, Christian Science is bullshit, but there is more to life than that. 

Also, there are some big changes happening in my life (good ones), and I just don’t have the time right now to write regularly here. My life has moved light years away from Christian Science. I rarely think about it day-to-day, and I see many of its effects on me fading. I’ve never planned for this blog to continue forever. I haven’t reached my end-point with this project, but I think I’m close.

So, I’m going to take a break. I’ll be back at some point, probably in the Fall, but for now, I’m going to take a break. I’ll still moderate comments, and answer e-mails, but for now, there will be no new posts on a regular schedule. As inspiration strikes, I may post something, but until I decide to end my break, there will not be regular postings.

Thanks for all of your support!

7 thoughts on “Taking a break…

  1. Enjoyed reading your posts immensely! Enjoy your break. Looking forward to more of your giving CS the old ‘heave-ho!!

  2. Hi,
    My name is Claudia and I really have appreciated reading all of your posts.
    I rarely have any opportunities to really “de-program” and get validation from my former life as a class taught Christian Scientist.
    I know I could write a book about my own traumas.
    One of them was having to do an intervention with my Christian Science mother and the legal department at the Mother Church.
    Anyway, thank you again!
    Best regards,
    I just want to thank you and I hope to see you back this fall.

  3. Have a wonderful break. I’ll keep coming back to read posts. They’ve helped me a lot. You’ve done a great service.

  4. Thank you very much. Do you do everything as thoroughly as you did this blog? Thought-provoking and therapeutic for me to read

  5. Your postings have been truly appreciated. It’s so interesting, to see how many areas relating to Christian Science you come up with, and then do them so fully. The clarity on this site is so helpful.

    For years I wandered in what I call the “Christian Science Wilderness.” I’ve posted about this before…maybe people are tired of hearing it…but before the age of the Internet, anyone who was struggling with mental confusion arising out of this religion, really were pretty much on their own. There were no known groups of former Christian Scientists who were in touch and helping each other out with issues common to former C.S’s. None that I ever knew about, anyway. If you dared going to a shrink, you brought tremendous guilt with you (I certainly felt it), because shrinks, like physicians, were DANGEROUS. You’d be letting yourself in for a nightmare! (Well, wasn’t the daily dose of mental confusion and depression you got from reading Science and Health sort of a nightmare, as well)? “No, no, that’s just Mortal Mind talking through you. You need to get back to studying your books some more!”

    Geez…

    I know enough about Christian Science to say that there are some very nice, thoughtful, and kind people in it. It’s possible to be raised in it, I believe, and still be halfway stable. But I believe that the background you come from, your home life, plays a part in whether you have serious problems in your adult life.

    For years, I blamed Christian Science for the depression, mental confusion, etc., that I was dealing with in my adult life. But I’ve also had to come to terms with the fact that I was raised by a very disturbed mother, who actually was using Christian Science as cover to work against me. Apparently, because she resented me. I’ve written about it before here. Having to deal with the fallout from that is very challenging in adult life. But I have gotten tremendous help from some very good people. I’m glad we have these Internet groups to work in concert, to get the help we need, and to know we’re not alone. Help…and real healing…are possible.

    Thank you for your site. It has been very helpful to me. And I will be looking forward to anything you write about here in the future. Chris

Leave a Reply

