Pay for prayer

The above article came across my Facebook newsfeed, and of course, given my background in Christian Science, the title caught my attention. Please give it a read as a backgrounder (it’s short, I promise), before you continue reading this post.

Christian Science practitioners are paid for prayer. It’s what they do for a living, and if they’re listed in the Christian Science Journalthat’s all they do for a living. While I don’t think they’re necessarily deceptive to the level that the man in this article is–definitely not deliberately so as he seems to be, I’d say they’re in the same neighbourhood. I’ve known some people who’ve paid hundreds, upwards of even thousands of dollars over periods of time spanning years in some cases, to Christian Science practitioners for conditions that, of course, don’t improve (because Christian Science, ahem, doesn’t cure anything). In my own family, after my parents died and I was settling up their affairs, I’d estimate that my Dad paid a practitioner several hundred dollars over around seven years for Christian Science ‘treatments’ that didn’t do a damn thing for him–during that entire time, I witnessed his health steadily deteriorate. If he’d gone to a doctor and gotten proper medical treatment for the heart failure that killed him, he might have lived. I also still vividly remember one of the last cheques I wrote on my parents’ accounts as I settled up their outstanding bills was for $1,500.00 to the Christian Science nursing facility in which my mother spent her excruciatingly painful last days. What a gross waste of money!

While I firmly believe every Christian Science practitioner sincerely believes that their prayerful work actually does do something, the fact of the matter is that it does not. If you’re paying a Christian Science practitioner for treatment of a disease or some other ‘bad’ thing in your life, you’re far better off to just set your dollar bills on fire–at least that way you’ll get some warmth, or you can roast some marshmallows over the fire.

 

One thought on “Pay for prayer

  1. You know, it’s too bad you can’t file a lawsuit against the Church, claiming mind control. It would be, admittedly, difficult to do or prove. With physical issues, not having been cleared up, “healed”, whatever, you have physical proof. Mind control is far more difficult issue to prove. It does not mean that the mental torment is not very real and felt, it is just that, to some extent, you’re just at something of a loss, to do something legally, about it.

    In my involvement with this religion, I ran the gamut of believing this was the one solid rock of help in which I could base my life, the “Pearl of Great Price”, to having a general sense of depression, at the thought of reading the Lesson Sermon every day, to feeling like I had an albatross around my neck, that I desperately wanted to free myself from. But it was so engrained, so seared into my thinking, how could I free myself from it?

    I spoke with my father, who never got into C.S., despite my mother’s efforts. When I approached him about Christian Science, and my struggles with it, the first thing he said to me, was: “Does it dominate your thinking?” My God, he hit it on the head. He said that he was astounded by some of the things he had read, that Mrs. Eddy had written. Including her having written about the possibility that Christian Science might someday make it possible to bring people into the world, without the need for sex. (She calls it “maintaining morality, while maintaining generation”).

    It is a concept that was always too extreme for even the Church to promote.

    Anyway, over time, I’ve managed to get away from much, if not possibly all, of the mind control which is part and parcel of being in Christian Science. It’s a day to day process. And it helps being around the clear-thinking people you run into in daily life, who never were in Christian Science, to begin with.

Leave a Reply

