I Have What I Need

599326_592263120830928_54295945_n

Image from Facebook, original source unknown.

WARNING: this post is “off-topic”–it doesn’t have anything to do with Christian Science, or my association/disassociation with it. A few days ago, I read this piece in Huffington Post. I’d recommend you give it a look see before continuing on here. Just do it! You’ll like it!

I usually don’t go much for the whole “positive thinking/think and grow rich/The Secret” kind of stuff. It reminds me too much of where I’ve been, if you catch my drift. The first few times I saw this piece re-posted on various friend’s Facebook timelines, I ignored it–somewhat for that reason. I guess it was when one of my more skeptical/sarcastic friends posted it with a genuine comment indicating that he really appreciated the sentiment expressed, I figured I’d have a look. I’m glad I did.

This piece talks about not just thinking positive and having “positive” things magically come into your life, it talks about really being positive. Putting your money where your mouth is, as it were. Really be happy, and appreciate what you have and let that set the tone in your life. I like that! I do believe thought is powerful, and that’s not just from my Christian Science background–it is true. If I’m feeling and thinking like crap, gosh darn it, the day turns to crap. Thought has a powerful influence over our own individual experience. For me, the jury is out on whether or not our thoughts alone can directly affect others or our environment.

The major gist of this piece is to take steps to appreciate what you have in your life, trust good people, and let them into your life, be kind (very important), humble, gracious, and grateful. This is all good stuff that we all need to do more of. To echo one point in the piece that really stood out to me, the fact that I’m writing this post indicates a few things: (1) I have internet access, (2) I have a computer (or access to one), (2) I have electricity, (3) I have my own shelter, and (4) I am able to read and write. There are many in this world that don’t have these things.

So, as for me, I am focusing more on just trying to be the best I can be, and if I get flat abs, have amazing sex, and end up ruling the world, that’s just a nice bonus–well, amazing sex…that would just be…AWESOME! But that’s something for a different kind of blog. For now, I’m just going to take some time to look up at the stars and appreciate the fact that although I am small in comparison to the vastness of the universe, I am a part of something great and wonderful. So, dear reader, carpe diem! Seize the day!

One thought on “I Have What I Need

  1. I think it is good to branch out sometimes. 😉 I also liked the piece, but felt it was a little over-simplified with the be-happy-now, sometimes it takes more than thinking yourself happy and recognizing how good you have it, sometimes it takes a little extra help. I do find it helpful when things get to be TOO MUCH to step back and realize how “first world” my problems are and how small they are when compared to the rest of the world. And then I bake myself some cookies and remember it is all okay.

Leave a Reply

