It’s the Simple Things

Today, I had a dentist appointment. I’m having a crown put on a tooth. It takes two appointments to complete the process, and today was the first and most arduous. Without getting overly graphic, a large amount of the tooth is removed, and then it is precisely shaped, leaving an anchor point for the crown, which effectively becomes like a new tooth. It involved almost two hours in the chair, most of it with the sweet sound of the dentist’s drill whining through my head.

One thing that can and in this case did happen after an operation like this is tooth pain. It’s not sharp pain, it’s more dull and unabating pain that begins to feel like someone is slowly trying to push a spike up into your head. It usually goes away in a day or so, and in the past, when I was a Christian Scientist, I would not have taken pain medication to alleviate the pain, I would have gritted through, perhaps trying to pray about it. Today, however, I took two ibuprofen capsules when I got home. Bada bing, bada boom! Pain gone! Yes, I love the simple things. How foolish I was to suffer as I used to. No more! Thank  you, evidence-based medicine!

5 thoughts on “It’s the Simple Things

  1. I was the child whose parents initially said no to local anesthesia for dental work. Eventually they “allowed” it so that the “dentist would feel more comfortable.” Too little too late. I grew up with an absolute terror of dentists, and I although I have found THE MOST AMAZING DENTAL PRACTICE IN THE WHOLE WORLD (the man is a genius at local anesthetics) I still have a very hard time scheduling routine cleanings and appropriate follow-up care when needed.

    • Woah! That’s harsh. Oh what CS makes people do sometimes. I remember one instance where the freezing either wore off, or didn’t take full effect and part way through the drilling, I felt it. I have never felt such pain in my life. I can’t imagine being forced to go through that. I’d be terrified. To this day (this happened when I was a teenager), I still stress out when I have to have fillings replaced or anything else involving drilling that it will happen again. I guess it’s PTSD. I can only imagine your terror. Oh the sweet legacy of CS!

  2. It only took 1-2 fillings for them to change their mind about it, but the damage was already done. I also had a dentist who only numbed one of about three nerves & then continued to numb it as I pointed out I was still in AGONY. Eventually he gave up (the anesthetic-to-weight ratio was about to be pushed to the max), put in a temporary filling & we came back later when the other dentist was in the office – thankfully the 2nd time they got all the nerves.

    Now the worst part for me is the noise & the way everything tastes.

    • Yeah, that sounds about like what happened to me. My parents mysteriously switched me to the dentist my Dad went to afterwards, a bit more inconvenient (downtown by Dad’s office vs. the suburbs where we lived), but greater peace of mind for them. A few years later, I was old enough to drive, so it didn’t matter as much anymore. I was telling my current dentist about this yesterday, oddly enough, and the assistant said that some teeth are harder to numb, as the “target” is more difficult to hit–especially the lower jaw, apparently.

      • My “problem” tooth was a molar on the bottom towards the back, tricky at best. I’ve since read up about dentistry & responsible dental practices, like modern medicine, it has come a long way in the last few years & thankfully my current dentist stays up with technology & has a “holistic” view… whatever, it works!

Leave a Reply

