Testimony

The previous commenter’s comment reminded me of an experience I had a couple of years ago, and I just had to stand up and give this testimony. I realized I needed to come clean and be honest with myself about what I really believed in instead of pretending to be something I was not. I feel so much better now, and I’m so grateful each and every day for the discovery of who I really am, and the world as it really is.

Does some of the wording of that paragraph sound familiar to you, my ex-Christian Scientist readers? If you’ve attended a Wednesday evening testimony meeting, it likely does. I have attended many. As a Christian Scientist, Wednesday meetings were my favourite, actually. However, I think if I had a dime for every time I’ve heard the phrase, “The previous testimony (or testifier) reminded me of an experience I had…” I’d be a retired millionaire writing this from the comfort of a hammock strung between two palm trees on a lush tropical island.

I remember a few Wednesdays where I’d count up the number of times someone was reminded of an experience by another’s testimony. I used to think it was funny how often I heard the phrase, and truth be told, I used it myself a few times when I mustered up the courage to stand up and give a testimony.

In a way, I’m invoking that phrase now. A comment on a previous post is what inspired this entry. The commenter told some of her story, and at the end said how grateful she was that she is no longer a Christian Scientist, and that if she could, she’d give a testimony about it. I replied back saying that her comment was sort of a “testimony”, and invited her to write an entry as a guest writer if she wanted to.

But, it’s interesting to me to see how all of us who’ve been Christian Scientists but have left it are still influenced by it no matter how much “deprogramming” we have done. I saw that influence right away in some of my commenter friend’s phrases–they had classic elements of a Wednesday testimony, and this commenter has been out of the faith for a very long time. I’ve only been out for a few years. Christian Science still colours my worldview quite strongly, as I’ve discussed in a previous post.

I think almost every Christian Science testimony I’ve heard also invokes gratitude for one or all of the following: Mary Baker Eddy (most popular), her “discovery” of Christian Science, Christian Science itself, the Bible, and lest we forget–Jesus. I shall now invoke the “I’m grateful” phrase in agreement with my commenter friend who expressed such, and say that I am ever so grateful I have left Christian Science.

So, for me, this blog is my on-going testimony. It’s part of my deprogramming, and the feedback I get is all part of it too. The dialogue I have with others on a similar journey is incredibly therapeutic for me. That’s another reason I started this blog, and I enjoy other blogs like this–it’s for that dialogue, that chance to let it all out and have someone understand you.

Writing is therapy for me, and by writing these entries, I’m sorting through things as I go along. So, I feel inspired to extend the invite to my commenter friend to anyone else who wishes to write a guest entry, and put their “testimony” out there. Just send me an e-mail, and we’ll see what we can do.

And, to my commenter friend, thank you for the inspiration! I wish you well!

3 thoughts on “Testimony

  1. I would like to thank the blogger for their remarks on the blog this evening. I am so very grateful to have left CS, and that my parents, for the most part, were NOT “radical” in their reliance during my childhood. I am grateful for a small, but growing, community of like-minded individuals and bloggers who can relate to my journey out of CS and the issues that it has caused me. Thank you again for your blog post. 😉

  2. The earlier blogger reminded me that I am very grateful to have left CS over 20 years ago too. But it took me until march of 2013 to even confront my experience there and 50 posts later, I am amazed I had so much to say. I am so grateful I never had a challenge to try to be radical about, my membership was so short. I am so grateful My dear 3rd generation hub survived his radically reliant childhood in one piece! And I am indeed grateful to see other bloggers and others comments and hope to see many more such wonderful testimonies. Thank you. .

Leave a Reply

